People who injure or kill a baby by shaking the child could reportedly face tougher penalties under legislation moving through the Missouri House
The House has endorsed HB 1317, a measure expanding Missouri’s child abuse law to specifically cover causing a baby’s death or injury by shaking.
Sponsor Jeanie Riddle, a Republican from Mokane, reportedly says current law makes it difficult to prosecute people when a child dies from “shaken baby syndrome.”
A person who commits child abuse in Missouri currently faces up to seven years in prison and a $20,000 fine. Under Riddle’s legislation, anyone who commits child abuse on a child under the age of 2 would face five to 15 years in prison.
To Read More on this Story: Click Here
If you have any questions or concerns about what can be done to help babies who have been shaken, or families of babies who have died, please call Christopher Keane and The Keane Law Firm toll-free for free consultation at (888) 592-5437 (KIDS), click on contact us here, or use the web form provided at http://www.keanelaw.com